Mount Gulian Opens For 2018 Tour Season

Sunday, Apr 22 2018;    Wednesday, Apr 25 2018;    Thursday, Apr 26 2018;    Friday, Apr 27 2018;    Sunday, Apr 29 2018;    Wednesday, May 02 2018;    Thursday, May 03 2018;    Friday, May 04 2018;    Sunday, May 06 2018;    Wednesday, May 09 2018;    Thursday, May 10 2018;    Friday, May 11 2018;    Sunday, May 13 2018;    Wednesday, May 16 2018;    Thursday, May 17 2018;    Friday, May 18 2018;    Sunday, May 20 2018;    Wednesday, May 23 2018;    Thursday, May 24 2018;    Friday, May 25 2018;    Sunday, May 27 2018;    Wednesday, May 30 2018;    Thursday, May 31 2018; ;
1:00 PM To 4:00 PM

145 Sterling Street, Beacon, NY 12508

www.mountgulian.org

Mount Gulian Historic Site, Beacon, opens for the season on Sunday, April 22nd. Tours of the historic home, 18th century Dutch barn, and restored garden will be given every Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday through October 28th. Tours will be given every hour on the hour, from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., with the last tour at 4 p.m.
A microcosm of American history, Mount Gulian’s visitors will hear about its part in the Revolutionary War and learn how General Von Steuben, headquartered here at the end of the war, trained the Continental Army troops to defeat the British. They’ll discover the stories of James F. Brown, a fugitive slave who risked his life for freedom, and of Robert Newlin Verplanck and his involvement in the Civil War as an officer in the US Colored Troops. They’ll learn about the founding of the Society of the Cincinnati, our country’s oldest veterans’ organization, and the history of the generations of Verplanck family members who lived at Mount Gulian. Artifacts on display span the 18th through the 20th centuries and include antique books, furniture, and an array of Revolutionary War items.
Admission is $8 adults; $6 seniors; and $4 children (6-18 years of age). There is no charge for Mount Gulian members. Membership is open to the public.
For more information, directions and event listings call 845-831-8172, email at info@mountgulian.org, or visit our website at www.mountgulian.org.